I have a confession to make.  Although I spend some individual time with the Lord every day, it has not always been quality time.  It sometimes slips into my to-do list and out of relationship.  It’s so easy to find excuses to try and justify reasons why I didn’t get around to special time with God on certain days.  Living a “full orbed” spiritual walk is something I have been growing in over the years, and “practicing the Presence” has been life-changing, but I sometimes use these life methods as excuses for my inconsistent personal connections with God.  I’ve even been told by church leaders that I’m in a season of raising little kids and my devotional life will come back in due time.  Friends, that is a load of crap.

Lately, I have felt conviction and a sense of urgency to step it up in this area of my life.  It is a must that I am daily studying the Word, supplicating, and waiting on the Lord.  I want to know Him more.  I’m after a deeper relationship with Him.  Some might think keeping it a daily practice no matter what is legalistic, but I figure if it is, then so is drinking water every day.  Just as my physical body needs hydration every day to stay alive, my spirit needs to be sustained by one-on-one time with my heavenly Father every day.  When it doesn’t happen, I start to wither away, sometimes unknowingly for a while.  Just as I can find time to feed and give drink to my body, I can find time to nourish my spirit as well, and if I don’t, my priorities are devastatingly askew.

My flesh likes to tell me that spending time alone with the Lord is a drag because it means getting my mind off myself and my to-do list.  It slows down my production for the day.   I could get a head start on the laundry or house cleaning before the kids get up instead of praying and waiting.  Or maybe I could pray and wait while I clean and kill two birds with one stone, because I’m not sure how I’m going to find the time to get everything done.  Besides, I am really just too tired to have the ability to even make a real connection with God.  EXUSES! 

I will now be held accountable by you who read this that I will daily spend time in the Word and contemplating it, in prayer, and (the most challenging thing for me) in waiting on the Lord.  I will not put a time limit on it, because I feel that would be legalistic.  Vision is found in Him.  Contentedness is found only in Him.  Salvation is found in Him alone.  I know I will lose my way if I do not study the map and communicate with the Navigator.  I know I will starve if I don’t daily take bread.  It’s always there for the taking, it’s up to me to pursue it, in times of consolation and desolation.
Bookmark and Share

